Prepare your photos for upload!!! #1 (General)

Discuss with us! Register and join for free.
join for free.
Google Ads Google Ads
Vladimir Danilov Vladimir Danilov Post 1 of 11
0 x Thank You
link
I'm a novice here at Fotocommunity and came from a Russian, very large community for photographers with an excellent structure and participators.
I've noticed here at FC, that almost all (90%) of works are uploaded without even simplest preparation. It's so pity to see that a rarely talented work looks terrible after upload: a small size, quality killed by wrong (or automatic) optimization, blank borders not removed after scanning, no frame where needed etc.
But it's all in our hands!!! Let's ask and learn, let's share own experiences!!!

I would like to start with a very important thing - the right preparation of an image for upload.

Let's read what's written in the FC HELP section:

"You can avoid the fotocommunitys automated optimising by converting the file on your own. You need to create the following format:

* JPG-Format
* Filesize maximum 130KB
* Width maximum 900 Pixel
* Height maximum 700 Pixel

You only suppress the automatic optimising if you don’t exceed one of the values above and have your file in a JPG-Format (JPEG)."

It means that if you made a photo 950*720 with 420 kb, or 800*600 with 150 kb and just upload it to FC, you will get a spoiled result of all your efforts: the image will be not more than 500 pix of height, and the file size only 40-80 kb. Just right-click on one of your photos and choose in the context menu "image properties", there you can see the image and file size.
An automatically or wrong optimized picture looks smoother than the original one. The most details are lost, for example, a grass can become just a flat piece of something green, hairs on the head can look like jelly.
Below two samples of one and the same image showing you how important for the quality is the file size.

Picture with 47,8 kb