Am I right or wrong?

Discuss with us! Register and join for free.
join for free.
Google Ads Google Ads
Brad Waldera Brad Waldera Post 1 of 6
0 x Thank You
link
A couple of issues back in PHOTOgraphic Magazine, I saw an article that has somewhat been on my mind ever since.

A guy took a photo of a Barn. It was a nice day, Wheat field in the foreground, not a bad looking shot. He then put the photo on his computer and began to alter it using his photo software.

He changed the Wheat field into water. He used the sky from another photograph. He made it a night scene instead of daytime. And he also put in a picture of the moon.

My problem with this, is that if he could of got a barn photo from some clip-art, he would not even have had to leave the house.

I'm no expert, far from it, but to me, that's not photography. I'm not sure what I'd call it? It's artistic. I'm sure it's very difficult to do. It just seems like cheating, in a way.

Anyway, that is just my opinion, and I hope nobody cares that I gave it. Let me know what your thoughts are about this.

Am I right, or wrong?

Brad Waldera
Anastasiya Ivanova Anastasiya Ivanova Post 2 of 6
0 x Thank You
link
At least his modification was based on his photographing regardless of that in fact I feel it is actually thoroughly diverged...so this belongs to digital editing.

If I were him I would simply go find a nightscene instead of wasting time doing considerable modification on my own photographing work.
Ruud van der Lubben Ruud van der Lubben Post 3 of 6
0 x Thank You
link
Well Brad, i think you are both right AND wrong ! 8-)