camera equipment help.

<12>
Discuss with us! Register and join for free.
join for free.
Google Ads Google Ads
Patrick Aguilar Patrick Aguilar Post 1 of 23
0 x Thank You
link
hey everyone, i'm an 18 year old photographer and i'm looking to buy a new camera.

i orginally had a nikon fm10, but now i want to get a new camera. i'm looking at the canon eos elan 7ne. it seems like a great camera, but in order to save myself some money, should i just stay with nikon and get something like the nikon f80 or n80? they also seem like great cameras and i already own two nikon lenses.

i feel inclined to go with nikon, but i still like the canon (i'm very indecisive), any suggestion?
George Cayce George Cayce Post 2 of 23
1 x Thank You
link
eos 33V.. if you dig canon
Allan Elke Allan Elke Post 3 of 23
1 x Thank You
link
i would stay with the canon elan 7e,with IS ultrasonic lenses canons is quiet and fast.
Todd Schoenbaum Todd Schoenbaum Post 4 of 23
0 x Thank You
link
I would stick with the FM10 that you already have. I know its not as fun as buying a new camera, but I think that your money would probably be better spent on a few new lenses and a nice tripod. It has been my experience that you learn a lot more when using an older manual camera than with the fancier automated cameras. I learned the hard way and first bought an entry level automated SLR, then bought a higher end model and then finally an all manual camera. My photographic knowledge and understanding accelerated rapidly with the manual. Just an opinion.

Todd Schoenbaum
http://www.celluloidandsilver.com
Jordan Shepler Jordan Shepler Post 5 of 23
0 x Thank You
link
I have an eos elan 7, and it is a great mid-range camera that performs a just as an SLR double its price... I would not waste the extra money on the eye controll option. It realy is not that important with only 7 focus points, and even on the eos 3 (which has 45) it is a bit slow and performs inconsistantly.