Travel / Asia / South Asia / Pakistan


The Punjab (Punjabi/Urdu: پنجاب) province of Pakistan is the country's most populous region and is home to the Punjabis and various other groups. Neighbouring areas are Sindh to the south, Balochistan and the North West Frontier Province to the west, Pakistani administered Azad Kashmir, Indian administered Jammu and Kashmir and Islamabad to the north, and Indian Punjab and Rajasthan to the east. The main languages are Punjabi, Seraiki, and Urdu and the provincial capital is Lahore. The name Punjab literally translates from Persian into the words Panj (پنج), cognate with Sanskrit Pāñca, meaning "five", and Āb (آب), cognate with Sanskrit Āp, meaning "water" respectively, which can be translated as "(the) five waters" - hence the name land of the five rivers, referring to the Beas, Ravi, Sutlej, Chenab and Jhelum rivers. Part of the Indus also lies in Punjab, but it is not considered one of the "five" rivers.
114 Photos | Page 1 by 2