We use cookies to personalize content and ads and to analyze the traffic on our websites. We also share information about your use of our websites with our partners for email, advertising and analysis. View details

Travel / Asia / Middle East


The Islamic Republic of Iran is a Middle Eastern country in southwestern Asia that until 1935 was referred to in the West as Persia. It borders Pakistan and Afghanistan to the east, Turkmenistan to the northeast, the Caspian Sea to the north, Azerbaijan and Armenia to the northwest, Turkey and Iraq to the west, and finally the waters of the Persian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman to the south. In 1979, a revolution led by the Ayatollah Khomeini established a theocratic Islamic Republic.
2,769 Photos | Page 1 by 47